Franklin Graham Attacks the Faith of President Obama

The Rev. Franklin Graham, son of evangelist Billy Graham, questioned the president’s religious faith today, saying he was unsure whether Obama was a Christian.

“I think you have to ask President Obama,” Graham said when asked on MSNBC’s “Morning Joe” whether the president is a Christian. “He has said he’s a Christian, so I just have to assume that he is.”

While Graham said there was “no question” that Republican presidential candidate Rick Santorum is a man of faith, he doesn’t know whether the president is a Christian.

http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/politics/2012/02/franklin-graham-questions-obamas-christian-faith/

My take on this: I am deeply saddened by this outrageous contribution to the political dialogue. In my previous blog post, I felt that demonizing others needs to quit. I realize that although I respect the ministry of Samaritan’s Purse and the Billy Graham Evangelistic Association I don’t respect this political theater. My guess is Mr. Graham is sincere and honest. But wow!

  1. When      President Obama ran for the office, his pastor was the “highly respected”      African American preacher Dr. Jeremiah Wright. Dr. Wright had video and      audio taken out of context to make him sound completely radical and crazy.      Dr. Wright is in the best tradition of black preaching in that      exaggeration for effect is used to make points. I abhor the way this great      man was vilified.
  2. So now,      Mr. Franklin Graham casts his doubts about the faith of the president. He      is entitled to his honest opinion. Yet I am entitled to withhold any      support for his organizations. Let those who agree with Mr. Graham’s      opinion support him. I will not.
  3. This is      not to demonize Mr. Graham. My blog may not influence anyone. But I for      one would appreciate the dialogue of the policies instead of demonizing      the character of the president. This line of conversation about the      president is just another way to say the president is not like us. His      opponents have said he was a Muslim. His opponents have questioned the      president’s birth certificate. His opponents have made the president a      friend of those who oppress Christians around the world. His opponents      have accused the president of being weak on defense and bad for the      economy. Now, because the President wants to provide prenatal health care      and contraceptives his faith is attacked. When all else fails, attack the      person and attack the person’s character. I for one am sick and tired of      it
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment