What If I Was The Pastor of the Real Housewives of Atlanta?

The Real Housewives of Atlanta This Season

The Real Housewives of Atlanta on the Bravo TV Network is my guilty pleasure. This is the only Housewives franchise show I follow. It is very successful. In fact, it is the highest rated “Housewives” show of the Bravo franchise. In my imagination I wondered what it would be like to be the pastor of such a group of beautiful, high powered, celebrities. So, here is my take on being the Pastor to the Real Housewives of Atlanta.

First let me say a few assumptions. These ladies are a creation of the producers of the show. Therefore, my assumption is they are regular people with regular issues, not only the issues manufactured for television viewing. Then, I am assuming they have a spiritual side to them. I do not know their religious preferences. For all I know they go to church. But I will assume they are at least spiritual and would have a pastor. Then, as my imagination unfolds, I would use each of them as a personality type that I have encountered in my years of pastoral ministry.

Of course I live in St. Louis, not Atlanta. This is only a blog post, not a gossip post. So as a good pastor, I would not reveal any salacious gossip or innuendo about my parishioners.

Nene serves as the most notable or notorious housewife. Her marital issues have been portrayed on the show. She says, when she walks into a room, she owns it. Nene reminds me of the ladies who are the center of attention. In public they are very gregarious. However, many of these same ladies have a quieter side. Nene seems to have discovered a feel for business. So presently her interest is in making money and capitalizing on her fame. She appears to be very strong-willed and sometimes comes across as a bully. I would wonder if she would have time to work on a project in the church. I would ask her to pick her own group of people to work with. She would rub some people the wrong way. I would think a fundraising gala for our community development corporation would be an ideal ministry for her to work.

Kandi reminds me of my young adults in the church. She is an accomplished producer. Could she be in our music ministry? Maybe not every week but from time to time. However, she would be a good person to help us produce an album with the music ministry. Kandi has a down to earth attitude on the show. Her interest seems to be adult entertainment and products. Well, she is not that far off, from some of my young ladies in the church. Many of them have a sensual side. However, if this pastor could harness her spiritual side, I think she would make a great worship leader someday.

Phaedra is the entertainment attorney. She is the “southern belle” that gets what she wants. Phaedra appears on the show to have a wild side, due to her representing some strippers. Her interest in becoming a mortician makes me think she wants to develop a business with her husband that would allow them to work together. Yet, she also comes across as a social gatherer. She would make a great fellowship chairperson to get church folks having get-togethers. I really don’t think she would have a stripper at church but if she did, my prayer is someone would witness the gospel to them and get them saved. (Smiles).

Sheree’ has been through a lot. She impresses me as someone who is strong for her family. She is like several of the women in the church who feel abandoned by their men and are having to make it on their own. Maybe the show wants us to feel empathy for her struggles. Sheree’ appears to make friends in the gay community and enjoys diversity in her circle. I do think she would find it hard to meet a man who can share her with so many gay friends. Many men distrust other men-friends of their wives if the friendship is too close. I would love to ask Sheree’ to work in our Sharing our Sisters outreach to homeless women. This project would allow her to exercise her deep love for people but would only take a short time to do this project.

Cynthia wants to be in a strong solid relationship. She appears world weary. She has surveyed what the world has to offer and wants something more a husband and a family. She appears very family oriented. My hope is that her marriage can overcome the apparent interference of her sister. However, this could still be another producer’s story arc. I would love for Cynthia to work with girls in our church to help them develop love for themselves and self-esteem.

Last but not least is Kim. Kim and Kandi will both be in their own reality series on Bravo this spring. Kim has found the love of her life. I believe Kim has been misunderstood, during the whole Real Housewives series. I think she loves people and was deeply hurt by the fight she and Nene had in a previous season. But I am happy she has found love with Kroy and a future. My confession, I have several ladies who are single parents and wanting to marry. I rejoice with them when they marry “Their baby-daddy”. I am not one to run people off from the church. I believe the good news is for those who have it together and those who are getting it together. I would ask Kim to encourage ladies to find the true love of their lives, Jesus Christ.

Well this is my fantasy ministry write up for today. Maybe you can shed some light of my thoughts. However, I am not being judgmental of their lifestyles. I can find these personalities in my church now. People are more than their moral failures and a failure need not be final.

I know, some of y’all think I should scold them or reprimand them for their lifestyle. Maybe that post is for another day, but not today. Thanks!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment